Universal Language

Oceans 2194

When I see French and Spanish on the ornaments

I feel at home again, never wavering

this is my planet your planet our planet

sometimes I see Tagalog or Cantonese or Somali,

around the corner is Hindi, and Tibetan,

and I love to see the Lakota.

The same spirit burning brightly, hoping

for someone to see us, to discover us

a reason to discover ourselves happy,

the joy of some sparkle.

So when I turn on the lights this year,

I’m speaking universal.

       

Poetry and Image © Copyright 2015, ancient skies

Peace and blessings to everyone.

“If you love nature, you will love people.”

15 thoughts on “Universal Language

  1. That’s wonderful. As a teacher I’ve been blessed with annual gifts of Christmas ornaments. My tree is rather eclectic but I understand the feelings in your post well. Happy Holidays to you and yours 🙂

Leave a Reply

