My Blogging Secrets

Mountains and Rivers 397

Ok shhh! Move in closer, next to the screen. There now, I’m about to tell you some of my secrets!

Secret #1 – I use my own photographs! Wait! I know what you’re thinking, that’s not really a secret, because you know that already, but let me tell you why I use my own photos (most of the time).

There was a concern about copyrights, and when I thought about that, I realized I was not giving myself enough credit, for being an artist/photographer. I had thousands of photographs, many of which are suitable for the blog. They are not of the best quality, and I don’t have a lot of expensive equipment, but they usually work out well.

Another reason I use my own photographs is that it is a HUGE time saver. When I first started, I found I was spending hours looking for the right photograph! It took longer to find photos than it did to write the post.

Secret #2 – Email and Bookmarks. I find another big time saver is not relying on email, to check messages. I simply use WordPress, and if I have to (because WordPress isn’t working) I use email as a backup. Also – I use bookmarks for sites that I don’t see often in my reader. I simply click and I am there to check on someone else’s site.

Secret #3 – Somehow, and I don’t really know how, I developed my own style of writing. Maybe you could call it “my voice”. It just happened over time. But I want to always be learning and growing. I write from a flow, so I guess my point is, just be yourself. See what style you have and create something from who you are!

Enjoy your blogging!

         

Peace and have a great rest of the week!

          

Writing and Image © Copyright 2015, ancient skies

Peace and blessings to everyone.

“When we love people, we give them hope.”

35 thoughts on “My Blogging Secrets

  1. I became very animated reading your post! love it all! Yes to the photos, even if some are a bit ‘rough’! They are what make the post uniquely you… or me for that matter. #3 your Voice more excitement from me…. we all need to express our Own Voice. Thank you for saying so!! and your final line – …we give them hope. such a perfect post. SMILING!

  2. Your photos are beautiful as your words, Nicodemas. I can relate to the hours spent searching for the appropriate image. I will remember the bookmarking idea too.

    As to style, I have a master’s degree in English but know most readers don’t care what is formally good or not. They enjoy the feelings and/or ideas that connect with them as human beings. In truth, readers don’t need to know anything about an author personally. It’s the author’s voice that touches them. Thank you for being yourself 🙂

  3. Your photos have a unique style. My secret : at first, I couldn’t see a thing in them, it was a mystery. It took me some time to understand (with your words) and love them. 🙂

  4. Hi,
    I found you on Kathleen Lafayette’s site. I agree with your tips, especially the one about the photos. I agree it takes longer to find a stock photo then to just take one myself.
    Nice to meet you. Happy holidays.
    Janice

    1. Hello Janice! Nice to meet you also. Happy Holidays and peace this coming New Year! Glad you enjoyed the post, I was sure I was not the only one that had this experience with photos. Thanks for reading and commenting!

Leave a Reply

