Shadow Walking

Winter Trees II 017

Many shadows still linger in the mountains

far beyond what this world can see, is that a tree?

or just the spirit of a tree? Quietly slipping through

the woods, I saw a set of wings shadowing

the ground, was he seeing who I was?

did I meet his approval? there was no answer,

only silence, but the poetry was strong

and I was surprised, that even without color,

the mountains lifted, I was off the ground,

with trees singing gently, up high

no eagle’s ghost, just the shadows

where spirits dwell quietly

and where the poetry is strong.

         

Poetry and Image © Copyright 2016, ancient skies

Peace and blessings to everyone.

“When we love people, we give them hope.”

19 thoughts on “Shadow Walking

  1. 15 Stars! love it all. the photo, the title, the poem, message. it connected me once again, to my Native American ancestry. Your words speak the language of the land and the spirit, to me in the way the tribes would… that’s how I see it anyway. It is beautiful Nico 🙂

    1. Wow, thanks Debi! I have studied Native American culture for a while now, I guess it has influenced me without my realizing it! I see things a little differently. Peace to you.

      1. you most surely know way more info! as I didn’t get any input on my heritage at all. but… I do, Feel It. i should go to your website and search for native culture bet I’d find a bunch of stuff! 🙂

      2. Yes, when I first started blogging I did more First Nations/Native American work. I think it is in the 2014 portion. I wrote a lot of short fiction (historical fiction) you might like. Search under Thunder Speaking, Red Hawk, Talking Eagle, Cricket in the Meadow and others. Thunder Speaking got married to Bluebird etc. There is spirituality there too. I made up tribal names in order not to offend anyone. Another feature I had was poetry featuring dancing videos. There was a lot on brotherhood, and sisterhood interwoven. Thanks for everything. Peace to you.

Leave a Reply

