My Other Grandfather

Oceans 2174

He was a tough guy and drank too much

making steel, but he always loved Christmas

maybe it was the tenderness once a year,

lots of presents. Working in the factory,

then as a bartender, and the liquor store,

like I said he was tough, but not with me

I always saw the other side of him, he had a soul,

a gentle soul, and at the nursing home

he never liked being left alone,

and at the end he wasn’t.

Rest in peace, GrandPop.

        

Poetry and Image © Copyright 2016, ancient skies

Peace and blessings to everyone.

“When we love people, we give them hope.”

15 thoughts on “My Other Grandfather

  1. Simply beautiful! One of my grandpas was just like that, but he loved me with his whole heart and I loved him back the same way… 🙂

  2. A beautiful tribute to a kind man. Glad to hear he didn’t die alone. The only grandfather I knew was my paternal grandmother’s second husband, a very tall skinny old man with snow-white curly hair. He only loved his bees and me. May they all rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

