The Hope of Loving

20150416_181751

A poem by Meister Eckhart 

What keeps us alive, what allows us to endure?

I think it is the hope of loving,

or being loved.

I heard a fable once about the sun going on a journey

to find its source, and how the moon wept

without her lover’s

warm gaze.

We weep when light does not reach our hearts. We wither

like fields if someone close

does not rain their

kindness

upon

us.

      

Poetry by Meister Eckhart (1260-1328)

Image © Copyright 2016, ancient skies

Peace and blessings to everyone.

“When we love people, we give them hope.”

15 thoughts on “The Hope of Loving

  1. “What keeps us alive, what allows us to endure?
    I think it is the hope of loving,
    or being loved.”
    This is what kept me going through my difficult childhood. It’s what my memoir is about. I’ll have to kept this poem I might use it in my book. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

