The Hobbit’s House

100_5417

They say that Hobbits don’t live here in these woods anymore, but I know differently. I never would have believed it, if I had not seen it for myself, with my own eyes.

One day I was deep, deep in the woods, and off the beaten path, when the forest began to change. I somehow knew instantly where I was, pressing through the sacred mist, moving to the right – passing the rocks that sing. Finally I came to the living trees, the ones that wave, moving their branches and moaning in order to scare people. They always do that.

I smelled the smoke of the Hobbit’s village, but it was not the smell of a normal fire. It did not smell of meat burning, it was more of a sweet smell, perhaps like cedar. And there it was – dozens of trees like this one. I knew right away that the Hobbit’s now lived this way, having abandoned a more conventional home in order to hide themselves better. I saw no one though, which was a bit unnerving.

Everything was strange – but I was not afraid – until I heard the whispering. I looked at their campfire, which was down to embers now, and then searched the forest with my eyes. It seemed as though hundreds of eyes stared back at me, and they started moving towards me.

I took the picture above quickly, as my proof and took off, never looking back. I ran past the living trees in a flash, the rocks that sing, and through the sacred mist. I never stopped running until I got back to the main road, grateful for civilization again.

I leave these words only as a warning. Please be careful when you are in the deep woods – you never know what you might find.

      

Writing and Image © Copyright 2016, ancient skies

Peace and blessings to everyone.

“When we love people, we give them hope.”

17 thoughts on “The Hobbit’s House

Leave a Reply

