Peace

100_1408

So why do I always wish you peace? Am I stuck in some type of a time warp from the 1960’s, dreaming of the anti-war movement? Am I some type of monk having just walked out of a monastery? Well the answer to both of these questions is no, but there are reasons I use the term frequently.

 Those that have been following for a while know I have mentioned this before, but a lot of my readers are new, so I thought I would share about it again.

We know that peace means the cessation of conflict, or a lack of war. But besides the outward need for our world to have peace, we each need to have peace personally. The Merriam-Webster dictionary says that word peace, can also mean: “a state of tranquility or quiet”, in other words internally.

I love the concept of Shalom which is a Hebrew word, meaning an overall sense of well being and wholeness. My understanding of the Arabic word Salaam is, peace be upon you. Both of these are very good. I am also used to churches where we greet each other (and visitors) with a handshake, maybe a hug, and “peace be to you”. I love that kind of language.

So when I share the term peace with you, I am saying that I want nothing but good things to take place in your life, regardless of your faith, or if you have no faith. I hope that you will not experience war, that you will have a sense of wholeness, and well being. I include good health with this. And finally that peace would indeed be with you, wherever you go.

Have a great week everyone, and I wish you peace!

      

Writing and Image © Copyright 2016, ancient skies

Peace and blessings to everyone.

“When we love people, we give them hope.”

27 thoughts on “Peace

  1. How refreshing it is to meet people of likemindedness who share the same vision. Like the prayer of St. Francis let there be peace on earth, and let it begin with me!
    Bless your heart Nicodemus, and peace be with you as well.

    1. Thank you Connie for your amazing comments! I am so blessed. And you know what? Reference to that prayer of St. Francis – you’ve given me another idea for a future post! Peace to you and thanks for the blessings too.

  2. Peace is usually sought by people if religious standing, the hippies, and … We are not important enough! The governments are made of oil stock, military contracts and influential people who think power is more important than peace. Forgive the long discourse.

Leave a Reply

