A Deeper Sense of Who I Am

100_1471

When things happen in our lives, including horrible things, we can spend our time in turmoil wondering why, or we can seek a new direction. I’m going to be honest here, the last 10 years or so have been the most difficult of my life. I say that only as an explanation, not as a request for sympathy, that I have cut back on blogging.

I love writing, that’s no secret, so I will push forward, in an effort to be positive. One of the hardest things for us to do, when times are difficult, is to feel loved. I know what that is like, and for men we are vulnerable in any number of ways, when life throws stones at us. That’s one of the reasons my wife and I are so close. We talk a lot.

I’m not interested in folding inward so I can protect myself, but I am going deeper in my spiritual life. I’m reading a lot more now. I have a stack of books just waiting for me, even more on my list! I am praying more, and searching for a much deeper spiritual life.

And I still enjoy photography. And yes I promise to share my photos here with you!

I will post here once a day, on most days, but I have a peace about maybe even skipping a day if it happens. And you know what? I have this new idea for Ancient Skies, perhaps, once in a while, posting a poem with no photograph, just the words. What??? No photo?

Thank you for your understanding! And thank you for being on this journey with me.

I wish you peace.

       

Poetry and Image © Copyright 2017, ancient skies

35 thoughts on “A Deeper Sense of Who I Am

  1. You are a kind honest soul brother. you always wish peace to readers, friends and even to each person privately. It means you are a chosen one.If you read Quran you will get peace of mind peace of heart and divine light brother. Wishing you more peace ❤

  2. @”Thank you for your understanding! And thank you for being on this journey with me.” – you’re welcome, Sir Nico! btw, with the fine weather, spending more time outdoors is a “must”… 🙂 to me, real life will always prevail over any virtual “stuff”! 😉
    * * *
    take care, stay healthy, mountains of inspiration and c u asap… 🙂 respectful regards, Mélanie Bedos

    1. Yes!! For sure! That’s another good reason to slow down on blogging – enjoying nature. And the result I believe is healing and strength that only nature can provide! Merci Melanie, I’m blessed and humbled by our comments Peace to you and your family.

  3. Blessings to you!! Being honest about feelings can be hard at times, and makes you vulnerable, but you did it! You do what you need to do to keep going. I understand my friend, I have been there. I am not sure how much of my blog you have read, but these past 2 years have been very hard ones for my family. Today marks what is going to be a very hard 2 day trial for my family.
    Life throws you curve balls for sure! But my faith gives me the strength to keep going!!
    I pray you can find strength and peace and feel love from God. He does Care!
    One step at a time!

    1. Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! Yes being thrown curve balls is a good way of describing the challenges! But when you have one major calamity, and then another, and then another it can be a time to pull back and recharge, or even go another direction entirely. Yes I did see on your site about the court date, and the whole thing sounds very tough to deal with. Thank God you have faith! I pray everything goes well and that He will give you strength. Peace to you and your family!

    1. Thank you Solitaire, for your kind words. And you’re right it is a step. It is something that can bring renewal, which I’m looking forward to! Peace and good health to you.

  4. Thank you for sharing your humanness with us…yet from such a spiritual perspective. I understand as I am going through an adjustment in my own life, and have had to let go of the need to write everyday and give myself some time to feed my soul, and as it digest what it’s taking in I have no doubt that the creative juices will come flowing through once again. I take what I can get right now when it comes. This is your time Nico…give yourself permission to enjoy this mini retreat in your life. Blessings and peace to you my friend as you venture along this new journey.😊

    1. Connie I am so grateful for your comments, and continued support! Yes, I am enjoying the break, and plan to in the near future. I do still write, and believe I’m supposed to, that God somehow has placed writing within me. And I’m blessed by your posts. I think you’re right – I’m sure you will be writing more in the future! Thank you again. Peace and good health to you my friend!

  5. Hi brother,
    May peace prevail your blog has something which touches the soul some sort of a balm for bruised hearts . I personally feel when everything appears dark one is instinctively drawn towards the lord.We need someone to share our concerns then why not the ultimate source. He has all the answers and his care and concern is infinite. Ancient skies… the two words have always transported me to our ancient scriptures and thoughts

    1. Veena I am deeply humbled and blessed by your kind words. And you’re right He does have all the answers. I cannot thank you enough. And thank you too for the comments about my blog. It helps to know that I am doing the right thing in having a blog. Peace to you my friend and great blessings!

  6. When things go wrong we should spend some time with selfless friends everyday if not impossible. Sorry to know that you have been suffering for so long. Wish you light love and peace.

Leave a Reply

